Upgrade to CockroachDB v24.1 Pre-Production Preview

On this page Carat arrow pointing down

CockroachDB v24.1.0-rc.1 is available to CockroachDB Dedicated clusters for testing and experimentation.

Warning:

This testing release is not qualified for production environments and not eligible for support or uptime SLA commitments.

An Org Administrator can upgrade your CockroachDB Dedicated cluster from the CockroachDB Cloud Console. This page shows how to upgrade a CockroachDB Dedicated cluster to v24.1.0-rc.1 for testing and experimentation.

Tip:

Upgrading from v23.2 to v24.1.0-rc.1 is a major-version upgrade. Upgrading a CockroachDB Dedicated cluster to a new major version is opt-in. Before proceeding, review the CockroachDB Cloud CockroachDB Cloud Upgrade Policy. After a cluster is upgraded to a Pre-Production Preview release, it is automatically upgraded to all subsequent releases within the same major version—including additional beta and RC releases, the GA release, and subsequent patch releases after GA, as patch version upgrades. To learn more, refer to Patch Version Upgrades.

Step 1. Verify that you can upgrade

To upgrade to CockroachDB v24.1, you must be running v23.2. If you are not running v23.2, first upgrade to v23.2. Then return to this page and continue to Step 2.

Step 2. Select your cluster size

The upgrade process depends on the number of nodes in your cluster. Select whether your cluster has multiple nodes or a single node:

   

Step 3. Understand the upgrade process

In a multi-node cluster, the upgrade does not interrupt the cluster's overall health and availability. CockroachDB Cloud stops one node at a time and restarts it with the new version, waits a few minutes to observe the upgraded node's behavior, then moves on to the next node. This "rolling upgrade" takes approximately 4-5 minutes per node and is enabled by CockroachDB's multi-active availability design.

Approximately 72 hours after all nodes are running v24.1, the upgrade will be automatically finalized. This enables certain features and performance improvements introduced in v24.1. Finalization also removes the ability to roll back to v23.2, so it's important to monitor your applications during this 72-hour window and, if you see unexpected behavior, roll back the upgrade from the CockroachDB Cloud Console.

When you start the upgrade, the cluster will be unavailable for a few minutes while the node is stopped and restarted with v24.1.

Approximately 72 hours after the node has been restarted, the upgrade will be automatically finalized. This enables certain features and performance improvements introduced in v24.1. Finalization also removes the ability to roll back to v23.2, so it's important to monitor your applications during this 72-hour window and, if you see unexpected behavior, roll back the upgrade from the CockroachDB Cloud Console.

Warning:

If you choose to roll back a major version upgrade, your cluster will be rolled back to the latest patch release of v23.2, which may differ from the patch release you were running before you initiated the upgrade. To learn more, refer to CockroachDB Cloud Upgrade Policy.

Step 4. Prepare to upgrade

Before starting the upgrade, complete the following steps.

Prepare for brief unavailability

Your cluster will be unavailable while its single node is stopped and restarted with v24.1. Prepare your application for this brief downtime, typically a few minutes.

The SQL Users and Tools tabs in the CockroachDB Cloud Console will also be disabled during this time.

Review breaking changes

Review the backward-incompatible changes and deprecated features announced in each v24.1 testing release. If any affect your applications, make the necessary changes before proceeding.

Reset SQL statistics

Before upgrading to CockroachDB v24.1, it is recommended to reset the cluster's SQL statistics. Otherwise, it may take longer for the upgrade to complete on a cluster with large statement or transaction statistics tables. This is due to the addition of a new column and a new index to these tables. To reset SQL statistics, issue the following SQL command:

icon/buttons/copy
SELECT crdb_internal.reset_sql_stats();

Step 5. Start the upgrade

To start the upgrade process:

  1. Sign in to your CockroachDB Cloud account.

  2. In the Clusters list, select the cluster you want to upgrade.

  3. Select Actions > Upgrade to Pre-Production Preview.

  4. In the Upgrade your cluster dialog, review the pre-upgrade message and then click to Pre-Production Preview.

Your cluster will be upgraded one node at a time without interrupting the cluster's overall health and availability. This "rolling upgrade" will take approximately 4-5 minutes per node.

Your single-node cluster will be unavailable for a few minutes while the node is stopped and restarted with CockroachDB v24.1.

After it is started, an upgrade cannot be cancelled. Instead, you can wait for the upgrade to finish, then roll it back for up to 72 hours, after which time it will be finalized and cannot be rolled back.

Step 6. Monitor the upgrade

Once your cluster is running CockroachDB v24.1, you will have approximately 72 hours before the upgrade is automatically finalized. During this time, it is important to monitor your applications and expect temporary limitations.

If you see unexpected behavior, you can roll back to v23.2 during the 72-hour window.

Monitor your application

Use the DB Console or your own tooling to monitor your application for any unexpected behavior.

Expect temporary limitations

Most v24.1 features can be used right away, but some will be enabled only after the upgrade has been finalized. Attempting to use these features before finalization will result in errors.

  • Splits no longer hold latches for time proportional to the range size while computing MVCC statistics. Instead, MVCC statistics are pre-computed before the critical section of the split. As a side effect, the resulting statistics are no longer 100% accurate because they may correctly distribute writes concurrent with the split. To mitigate against this potential inaccuracy, and to prevent the statistics from drifting after successive splits, the existing stored statistics are re-computed and corrected if needed during the non-critical section of the split. #119894

For an expanded list of features included in v24.1, temporary limitations, backward-incompatible changes, and deprecated features, refer to the v24.1 release notes.

Roll back the upgrade

If you see unexpected behavior, you can roll back the upgrade during the 72-hour window.

To stop the upgrade and roll back to v23.2, click Roll back in the banner at the top of the CockroachDB Cloud Console, and then click Roll back upgrade.

During rollback, nodes will be reverted to the latest production patch release of v23.2 one at a time without interrupting the cluster's health and availability.

Because your cluster contains a single node, the cluster will be briefly unavailable while the node is stopped and restarted with the latest production patch release of v23.2. Be sure to prepare for this brief unavailability before starting the rollback.

Step 7. Complete the upgrade

If everything looks good, you can wait for the upgrade to automatically finalize, or you can manually finalize the upgrade to lift the temporary limitations on the cluster more quickly.

Finalize the upgrade

The upgrade is automatically finalized after 72 hours.

To manually finalize the upgrade, click Finalize in the banner at the top of the CockroachDB Cloud Console, and then click Finalize upgrade.

After finalization, all temporary limitations will be lifted and all v24.1 features will be available for use. However, it will no longer be possible to roll back to v23.2. If you see unexpected behavior after the upgrade has been finalized, contact support.

See also


Yes No
On this page

Yes No