Manage a CockroachDB Serverless Cluster

This page describes the cluster management and cluster deletion workflows for CockroachDB Serverless (beta).

Planning your cluster

Before making any changes to your cluster's configuration, review the requirements and recommendations for CockroachDB Cloud cluster configuration.

View Clusters page

On logging in to the CockroachDB Cloud Console, the Clusters page is displayed. The Clusters page provides a high-level view of your clusters.

For each cluster, the following details display:

  • The cluster's Name
  • The cluster's Plan type, either Serverless or Dedicated
  • The date and time the cluster was Created
  • The cluster's current State
  • The cluster's cloud provider, either GCP or AWS
  • The Version of CockroachDB the cluster is running
  • The Action button, which is used to:

To view and manage a specific cluster, click the name of the cluster. The Overview page will display.

View cluster overview

The Overview page displays details about the selected CockroachDB Serverless (beta) cluster:

  • The Cluster settings section, including Cloud provider, Plan type, and Region
  • The Usage this month section, including the Spend limit, Storage, and Request Units
  • The cluster's Current activity
  • Time-series graphs of the cluster's Storage usage, Request Units, and SQL statements

For more information, see Cluster Overview Page.

Edit your spend limit

You can edit your spend limit from the Overview page. The change in your spend limit will affect current and upcoming billing cycles. See Planning your cluster for more information on resource usage.

  1. Navigate to the Overview page for the cluster you want to edit.
  2. Click the pencil icon (or Add a spend limit if you haven't set one before) next to your Spend limit in the Usage this month section.

    You will be taken to the Edit cluster page, which shows a graph of your cluster's Recommended budget compared to your current budget.

  3. Enter a new Spend limit.

  4. Click Update.

Restore data from a backup

Use the Backups page to restore your cluster from automatic full cluster backups.

You can also backup and restore your CockroachDB Serverless (beta) cluster manually. If you don't have billing information on file for your organization, you can take backups locally to userfile. Once you enter billing information, even if you don't set a spend limit, you can also backup to cloud storage.

Delete cluster

Warning:

Deleting a cluster will delete all cluster data.

Note:

Free CockroachDB Serverless clusters are subject to deletion after 6 months of no activity.

Proceed with the following steps only if you are sure you want to delete a cluster:

  1. Navigate to the Overview page for the cluster you want to delete.
  2. Click the Actions button in the top right corner.
  3. Select Delete cluster.
  4. In the confirmation window, enter the name of the cluster.
  5. Click Delete.
YesYes NoNo