Cluster Management

This page describes the cluster management and cluster deletion workflows.

Planning your cluster

Before making any changes to your cluster's nodes or regions, review our requirements and recommendations for CockroachDB Cloud cluster configuration.

Requirements

  • Multi-region clusters must contain at least 3 regions to ensure that data replicated across regions can survive the loss of one region. For example, this applies to internal system data that is important for overall cluster operations as well as tables with the GLOBAL table locality or the REGIONAL BY TABLE table locality and REGION survival goal.
  • Each region of a multi-region cluster must contain at least 3 nodes to ensure that data located entirely in a region can survive the loss of one node in that region. For example, this applies to tables with the REGIONAL BY ROW table locality.
  • You can have a maximum of 9 regions per cluster through the Console. If you need to add more regions, contact us.

Recommendations

  • We recommend you use the same number of nodes in each region of your cluster for best performance and stability.
  • When scaling up your cluster, it is generally more effective to increase node size up to 16 vCPUs before adding more nodes. For example, if you have a 3-node cluster with 2 vCPUs per node, consider scaling up to 8 vCPUs before adding a fourth node. For most production applications, we recommend at least 4 to 8 vCPUs per node.
  • We recommend you add or remove nodes from a cluster when the cluster isn't experiencing heavy traffic. Adding or removing nodes incurs a non-trivial amount of load on the cluster. Changing the cluster configuration during times of heavy traffic can result in degraded application performance or longer times for node modifications.
  • Before removing nodes from a cluster, ensure that the reduced disk space will be sufficient for the existing and anticipated data.
  • If you have changed the replication factor for a cluster, you might not be able to remove nodes from the cluster. For example, suppose you have a 5-node cluster and you had previously changed the replication factor from its default value of 3 to 5. Now if you want to scale down the cluster to 3 nodes, the decommissioning nodes operation to remove nodes from the cluster might fail. To successfully remove nodes from the cluster, you will have to change the replication factor back to 3.

View Clusters page

On logging in to the CockroachDB Cloud Console, the Clusters page is displayed. The Clusters page provides a high-level view of your clusters.

For each cluster, the following details display:

  • The cluster's Name
  • The cluster's Plan Type, either Serverless or Dedicated
  • The date and time the cluster was Created
  • The cluster's current State
  • The cluster's cloud provider, either GCP or AWS
  • The Version of CockroachDB the cluster is running
  • The Action button, which is used to:

To view and manage a specific cluster, click the name of the cluster. The Overview page will display.

View cluster overview

The Overview page displays details about the selected CockroachDB Cloud cluster:

  • The Current Charges and next billing date for the cluster
  • The cluster's Cloud provider
  • The cluster's Hardware per node
  • A list of the selected cluster's nodes.

    For each node, the page displays the node's Name and Status, nested under its region.

From the Overview page, you can connect to your cluster. For more information, see Connect to Your CockroachDB Dedicated Cluster.

Add or remove nodes from a cluster

You can add or remove nodes from your cluster through the Console. See Planning your cluster for cluster requirements and recommendations before proceeding.

Note:

CockroachDB Cloud contract customers cannot scale clusters through the Console. If you need to add or remove nodes, contact Support.

Note:

At this time, you cannot use the Console to scale a multi-node cluster down to a single-node cluster. If you need to do this, contact Support.

To add or remove nodes from your cluster:

  1. Navigate to the cluster's Overview page.
  2. Click the Actions button in the top right corner.
  3. Select Add/remove nodes.

    The Edit page displays.

  4. From the Nodes dropdown, select the number of nodes you want in your cluster.

  5. In the Summary sidebar, verify the hourly estimated cost for the cluster.

  6. Click Continue to payment.

  7. In the Confirmation dialog, verify your new cluster configuration.

  8. Click OK.

Restore data from a backup

Cockroach Labs runs full backups daily and incremental backups hourly for every CockroachDB Dedicated cluster. The full backups are retained for 30 days and incremental backups for 7 days.

Note:

All databases are not backed up at the same time. Each database is backed up every hour based on the time of creation. For larger databases, you might see an hourly CPU spike while the database is being backed up.

To restore your data, contact us.

Additionally, you can backup and restore data on your own.

Delete cluster

Warning:

Deleting a cluster will delete all cluster data.

Note:

CockroachDB Serverless (beta) clusters are subject to deletion after 6 months of no activity.

Proceed with the following steps only if you are sure you want to delete a cluster:

  1. Navigate to the Overview page for the cluster you want to delete.
  2. Click the Actions button in the top right corner.
  3. Select Delete cluster.
  4. In the confirmation window, enter the name of the cluster.
  5. Click Delete.
YesYes NoNo